Two images: The cover of Nordic Journal of Media Studies and a person reading the journal on a computer.

Nordic Journal of Media Studies

Nordic Journal of Media Studies (2019–) is a thematic digital-only journal published once a year. The journal only accepts submissions in response to a Call for papers specifying the annual theme. All submissions are subject to a double-blind peer review by two external reviewers.

Nordic Journal of Media Studies is edited by an external editorial committee led by professor Anne Jerslev, University of Copenhagen. The journal is supported by the Nordic Board for Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NOP-HS).

Journal articles and issues are Open Access and currently published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public licence (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0). All articles can be downloaded free of charge and without requirement for registration from the Sciendo publishing platform.​​​​​

Aims & scope

Nordic Journal of Media Studies is a peer reviewed international publication dedicated to media research. The journal is a meeting place for Nordic, European, and global perspectives on media studies.

The editors stress the importance of innovative and interdisciplinary research, and welcome contributions on both contemporary developments and historical topics. The journal is open for theoretical contributions and empirical research, and combinations thereof. The editors also welcome critical approaches to media studies addressing questions of power, inequality, participation, and voice. 

Nordic Journal of Media Studies focuses on the interplay between the media and their cultural and social contexts. We are interested in the media as industries and institutions of modern society, but also in how they are woven into the fabric of everyday life as mobile and interactive technologies.

The emergence of new social networks, changes in political communication, intensified datafication and surveillance of human interaction, and new dynamics between media, popular culture, as well as commercial markets, are important aspects of the changing relationship between the media, culture, and society.

Editorial team

Chief editor: Anne Jerslev, University of Copenhagen 


  • Tina Askanius, Malmö University
  • Göran Bolin, Södertörn University
  • Kirsten Frandsen, Aarhus University
  • Stig Hjarvard, University of Copenhagen
  • Risto Kunelius, University of Tampere
  • Mette Mortensen, University of Copenhagen
  • Jill Walker Rettberg, University of Bergen
  • Eli Skogerbø, University of Oslo

Managing editor: Josefine Bové, Nordicom

Manuscript editor: Kristin Clay, Nordicom

For inquiries, please contact the chief editor at

Editorial board

Piermarco Aroldi, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Italy

Stina Bengtsson, Södertörn University, Sweden

Daniel Biltereyst, Ghent University, Belgium

Axel Bruns, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Viktorija Car, Zagreb University, Croatia

Lynn Schofield Clark, University of Denver, USA

John Corner, University of Liverpool, Great Britain

Lina Dencik, Cardiff University, Great Britain

Gillian Doyle, University of Glasgow, Great Britain

Gunn Enli, University of Oslo, Norway

Andrea Esser, University of Roehampton, Great Britain

Rita Figueiras, Catholic University of Lisbon, Portugal

Johan Fornäs, Södertörn University, Sweden

Folker Hanusch, University of Vienna, Austria

Maren Hartman, Universität der Kunste Berlin, Germany

Lee Humphreys, Cornell University, USA

Steve Jones, University of Illinois, USA

Aske Kammer, Roskilde University, Denmark

Anne Kaun, Södertörn University, Sweden

Ulrike Klinger, Freie University, Berlin, Germany

Sonia Livingstone, London School of Economics, Great Britain

Lars Lundsten, University of Helsinki, Finland

Stefania Milan, Amsterdam/Oslo, Netherlands/Norway

Hallvard Moe, Bergen, Norway

Kaarina Nikunen, University of Tampere, Finland

Dominique Pasquier, CEMS, France

Cristina Ponte, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

Zrinjka Perusko, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Kristina Riegert, Södertörn University, Sweden

Ralph Schroeder, Oxford Internet Institute, Great Britain

Inge Sørensen, University of Glasgow, Great Britain

Trine Syvertsen, Oslo University, Norway