Nordicom Review

For more than four decades, Nordicom Review has provided a dedicated forum for media and communication research relevant to the Nordic region.


Aims and scope

Nordicom Review is an international peer-reviewed journal that provides a dedicated forum for articles contributing to a wider understanding of media, mediated communication and journalism in the Nordic region. This includes research on Nordic countries as well as research with relevance for the Nordic context.

Nordicom Review publishes original articles and book reviews on topics such as journalism, popular culture, media audiences, media history, political communication, public service media, media and information literacy, media education, and media production, structure, policy and economy.

The journal is interdisciplinary and publishes both empirical and theoretical articles. Nordicom Review welcomes contributions from a worldwide authorship.



About Nordicom Review 

Established: 1980

Nordicom Review is published by Nordicom at the University of Gothenburg with support from the Nordic Council of Ministers. It adheres to a rigorous double-blind reviewing policy in which the identity of the reviewer and author are always concealed from both parties.

Nordicom Review is included in SCOPUS, the largest abstract and citation database for peer-reviewed research.

Beginning with the 2020 volume, Nordicom Review will be an online-only journal.  Special thematic issues are published regularly. All issues and articles published in Nordicom Review since 2000 can be downloaded free of charge from the Sciendo publishing platform.  


Editorial team

Editor-in-chief: Jonas Ohlsson

Editor: Johannes Bjerling

Editor: Karin Zelano

Managing editor: Kristin Clay 

Editor for book reviews:  Maarit Jaakkola


The Nordic region provides a fruitful environment for studies of media and journalism. Nordic countries rate high on indexes of democracy, welfare, gender equality and absence of corruption, with strong public service broadcasting and state subsidy systems securing pluralism in the media. Additionally, their early development of information and communication technology complements a long tradition of almost-universal literacy and freedom of expression.